Skip to content

hold the horses (or demons and angels)

January 30, 2009
Matt Mullican performing under hypnosis at Tate Modern, London, January 27, 2007

Matt Mullican performing under hypnosis at Tate Modern, London, January 27, 2007

TG: How do you feel when you perform?

MM: Well, I don’t feel all there, and I don’t feel [makes very strange sounds followed by exhalations] that you . . . what I’m doing is taking it apart. [sighs] And how do you do that? How do you do that, and where do you go when you do that? What do you say? How do you say it? OK, here I am. When you’re in a performance, when I’m performing, when I do what I’m doing now, I don’t know what I’m doing. So I touch things. Start with the easy stuff and then you get more complicated. I rub my cheek on the wall, on the wall I rub my cheeks [laughs]. Oh, boy, here I go. You start with the simplest things. You start with the simplest things and then maybe they become better, more complicated. You know, the performances . . . I do one and I do another one and I do another one and I do another one and I do another one. I don’t know what to do, so I do what I did already. And then I do it again and I do it again and I do it again because it’s easy. It’s simple.

Matt Mullican interviewed for Artforum while under hypnosis
read full article

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

