Skip to content

beginners

July 30, 2009

[TLS] Carver was the singer but Lish was his producer, and the mood of the sessions is largely his creation. In “Mr Coffee and Mr Fixit”, the narrator is talking about Ross, who is having an affair with his wife:

Ross. What a name! But it was different then. In those days I mentioned weapons. I’d say to my wife, “I think I’ll get a Smith and Wesson.” But I never did it.
Ross was a little guy. But not too little.

Compare that with the Beginners version:

I wish him well now. But it was different then. More than once in those days I mentioned weapons. I’d say to my wife, I’d shout it, “I’m going to kill him!” But nothing ever happened. Things lurched on. I never met the man, though we talked on the phone a few times. I did find a couple of pictures of him once when I was going through my wife’s purse. He was a little guy, not too little, and he had a moustache and was wearing a striped jersey.

the great Carver/Lish debate

more on Carver

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

