Skip to content

return from the dead

December 14, 2009

[Guardian] He wrote the music for the second part of Phaedra after waking from a two-month-long near-coma in 2005. “The illness started when I was in London to hear a piece of mine. Suddenly I couldn’t walk. It was then that I stopped liking life.” There are long pauses in his conversation, punctuated by sips of his favourite cocktail, a mysterious green liqueur. After this first collapse, he came home to Rome. “I stopped eating, and I stopped speaking, and just lay flat in my bed. People thought it was . . . they thought the moment had come. And they came from everywhere, all over the world, from New York, for a funeral.” He laughs, gently but sardonically. Was he completely unconscious? He nods his head. “But the moments when people came to say goodbye, I sometimes felt them around me – and saw them, sort of. And then one morning, I just stood up. Fausto [Moroni, Henze’s companion for 40 years] was amazed. So was I. And then I started writing again.” (read)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 12:03 pm

    just additional henze paraphernalia in not english but alas the unfortunate foul demon language:
    http://www.freitag.de/kultur/0506-idealistische-utopie

  2. December 15, 2009 12:43 pm

    thanks antonia! unfortunately i can’t read or speak German, but i’m sure a few people who visit do.

Leave a Reply

