Skip to content

silence gripped us

May 1, 2010

“One does not miss something one does not see – there is no such thing. Seeing is an immediate thing. And even if I wanted to, I am no longer capable. This is it, this is the end.”

Again silence gripped us. Only one question could break it. “No, I am not afraid of death,” he replied, gazing at the painting. “I’ve met it several times in my life. I’ve had a full, rich life and most of the time I rejoiced in it. You know, a man loses himself in several stages toward death – first he loses his talent, then his body and finally his consciousness. And poof, he’s gone. Like a particle in space.” (read)

Avigdor Arikha
(April 28, 1929 – April 29, 2010)
obituary and  this and this
slideshow

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

